Letters to the Editor

Mon 9 Jul 2018

OPINION: 30 priests did nothing to call out abuse

premium_icon OPINION: 30 priests did nothing to call out abuse

'1500 confessions to 30 priests over 25 years would suggest to me that the church is telling yet more lies' 

Wed 27 Jun 2018

Age not always the issue when it comes to driving

premium_icon Age not always the issue when it comes to driving

A TOOWOOMBA lawyer has made some good points about elderly drivers.

Tue 19 Jun 2018

How you can help homeless people in need

How you can help homeless people in need

WHEN you’re facing a huge energy bill, do you turn down the heating or do you go without meals?

Thu 14 Jun 2018

LETTERS: Should humans really be drinking milk?

LETTERS: Should humans really be drinking milk?

AFTER reading Julie McCullough's letter (NM, 05/06) Cow's milk is good, I thought I'd put in my five cents' worth.

Tue 12 Jun 2018

'A policy for investors': Short-term rental woes

premium_icon 'A policy for investors': Short-term rental woes

More short-term rental regulations needed: Yamba resident

Sat 9 Jun 2018

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

ALLOW me to tell you and your readers about an extraordinary act of kindness extended to me by a denizen of your city.

Fri 8 Jun 2018

Council's 'boondoggling' white collar staff failing Ipswich

Council's 'boondoggling' white collar staff failing Ipswich

One thing the corruption and waste debacle have highlighted is that there appears to be a lot of boondoggling going on at Ipswich City Council.

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

EDITOR Steve Etwell penned: “Surely there are people out there with an opinion” (TC, 02/06).

Sun 3 Jun 2018

So who knew what and when?

So who knew what and when?

Perhaps they knew nothing - just like Sergeant Schultz of Hogan's Heroes fame

Our name has been tarnished

Our name has been tarnished

It's going to take the council years of hard yakka to win back the trust of our community

Tue 22 May 2018

Lazy cartoons hit the same old target

Lazy cartoons hit the same old target

Unions look at how politicians perform and put up a challenge to big business and corporate entities

Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

premium_icon Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

Living in the present but acknowledging the past while looking towards the future is the only way forward.

Sun 20 May 2018

Democracy must be done

Democracy must be done

It seems the most charitable view of Mr Wendt's opinion is that he is grossly ignorant in his portrayal of the situation

Fri 18 May 2018

Cat left to die on suburban street

premium_icon Cat left to die on suburban street

I AM very annoyed with drivers around Toowoomba when they hit an animal on the road and continue driving as if it does not matter

Wed 16 May 2018

Live trade torment is immoral and indefensible

Live trade torment is immoral and indefensible

For years, we have reluctantly accepted the fact that a certain number of exported animals routinely die of heat stress

Development must be stopped

Development must be stopped

We hope the court and CB CB Developments Pty Ltd do the right thing

Tue 15 May 2018

Despondent over clearing

Despondent over clearing

I measured the edge of the Woogaroo Creek to the edge of the development. It should have at least a 50m exclusion zone. It averages 15m.

Fresh start needed to bring us a sense of hope

Fresh start needed to bring us a sense of hope

The attempt to portray these charges as trivial beggars belief, especially considering the council's supposed commitment to accountability and transparency

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

Letter writer Baron Large defends his stance against female NRL commentators.

Sun 13 May 2018

No time for council 'spin'

No time for council 'spin'

If you are doing a bad job, then you face the sack. That's the reality in the real world, Mr Wendt

Newer Older