Letters to the Editor

Thu 16 Aug 2018

All a matter of timing with daylight saving

premium_icon All a matter of timing with daylight saving

I say, why break the cycle of stupidity north of the Tweed River when politicians do not understand the basics of time in regards to the size of Queensland.

Wed 15 Aug 2018

Stop mucking about, build more coal-fired power stations

premium_icon Stop mucking about, build more coal-fired power stations

It really is time our governments got together and determined to construct more coal-fired power stations, and probably some nuclear-powered ones too.

Tue 14 Aug 2018

All it takes is $5 to help out our farmers

All it takes is $5 to help out our farmers

MOST people know that farmers in drought-declared Queensland are struggling to survive.

Mon 13 Aug 2018

RANGE CROSSING: What should be name of new road?

premium_icon RANGE CROSSING: What should be name of new road?

THE new road. Should it have a person’s name, dead or alive, be the Toowoomba bypass or the second range crossing. A good question.

Sun 12 Aug 2018

LETTERS: Why is digging up the dead allowed?

LETTERS: Why is digging up the dead allowed?

FOR centuries archaeologists have been unearthing and opening tombs in Egypt, all in the name of science.

Sat 11 Aug 2018

What should you do if you hit a koala?

What should you do if you hit a koala?

Three recent koala deaths in the Gympie region calls for public action

Jerome: 'Stop racial intolerance'

premium_icon Jerome: 'Stop racial intolerance'

'It is not the same Australia it was when our first Australians arrived.'

Tue 31 Jul 2018

LETTER: People power solved 'underground river' mystery

LETTER: People power solved 'underground river' mystery

OUR long-running water problems in Palm Ave in Raceview have been fixed.

Sat 28 Jul 2018

Drivers need to look for bikes

premium_icon Drivers need to look for bikes

Almost every day cyclists are abused, swerved at and even have had objects thrown at them.

Thu 26 Jul 2018

Bolt overlooks ABC's showcase of colourful Aussie characters

premium_icon Bolt overlooks ABC's showcase of colourful Aussie characters

He overlooks the ABC series Back Roads which reveals the wonderful, colourful characters who live in our widespread, diverse communities.

Don't make betting appear glamorous in ads

premium_icon Don't make betting appear glamorous in ads

Tell the truth about betting, don't make it glamorous when it isn't, and don't imply you will always win when you don't.

Farmers need more support to fight drought

premium_icon Farmers need more support to fight drought

Readers have their say on the need for drought aid for farmers.

Wed 25 Jul 2018

Russia must be held to account for role in plane disaster

premium_icon Russia must be held to account for role in plane disaster

MH17 was shot down over Ukraine with a Buk surface to air missile.

OPINION: Plastic bag ban won't save environment

OPINION: Plastic bag ban won't save environment

Letter writer Eloise Rowe says the "bag ban" has done very little for the environment, as it's impossible to remove all forms of plastic.

Mon 9 Jul 2018

OPINION: 30 priests did nothing to call out abuse

premium_icon OPINION: 30 priests did nothing to call out abuse

'1500 confessions to 30 priests over 25 years would suggest to me that the church is telling yet more lies' 

Wed 27 Jun 2018

Age not always the issue when it comes to driving

premium_icon Age not always the issue when it comes to driving

A TOOWOOMBA lawyer has made some good points about elderly drivers.

Tue 19 Jun 2018

How you can help homeless people in need

How you can help homeless people in need

WHEN you’re facing a huge energy bill, do you turn down the heating or do you go without meals?

Thu 14 Jun 2018

LETTERS: Should humans really be drinking milk?

LETTERS: Should humans really be drinking milk?

AFTER reading Julie McCullough's letter (NM, 05/06) Cow's milk is good, I thought I'd put in my five cents' worth.

Tue 12 Jun 2018

'A policy for investors': Short-term rental woes

premium_icon 'A policy for investors': Short-term rental woes

More short-term rental regulations needed: Yamba resident

Sat 9 Jun 2018

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

ALLOW me to tell you and your readers about an extraordinary act of kindness extended to me by a denizen of your city.

Newer Older