Letters to the Editor

Mon 6 May 2019

AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

premium_icon AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

An open letter to Australian politicians and councillors - you are missing one very important environmental policy in your election promises

Wed 1 May 2019

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

'There are a lot of people getting rich on the back of mining projects but it's almost never the people who live in the vicinity of them.'

Mon 8 Apr 2019

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

At first glance this looks like a Ford Ranger Wildtrak ute but there’s a major query on its build quality.

Mon 1 Apr 2019

Ensure you get what you pay for

Ensure you get what you pay for

A reader checked the vehicle identification number of his new ute — and discovered all was not as it seemed.

'Children used for political agenda' in protests

premium_icon 'Children used for political agenda' in protests

HAVE we lost the plot by supporting children protesting instead of going to school, to put it bluntly why would anyone support truancy?

Big W shows 'serious thought' needed before opening business

premium_icon Big W shows 'serious thought' needed before opening business

WOOLWORTHS is considering closing up to 40 Big Ws as they aren’t paying their way, or are under performing. Business is a tough, unforgiving world.

Wed 27 Mar 2019

Support traders or local businesses will face closure

premium_icon Support traders or local businesses will face closure

I'm appealing to all local residents to support local takeaways, bakeries and restaurants, or risk losing them.

Mon 25 Mar 2019

OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

premium_icon OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

LETTER: Take Pauline Hanson, for example. The moment she entered parliament she has been fair game for one and all.

Are snake numbers rising, or are we invading their space?

premium_icon Are snake numbers rising, or are we invading their space?

Are snake numbers increasing, or are more of us interacting with them and getting more and more into their space?

Mon 18 Mar 2019

Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

premium_icon Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

'Waking up this morning, it is hard to believe that this dreadful insult on decent human beings, has been performed by other humans.'

Fri 15 Mar 2019

YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

premium_icon YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

The second in writers series about the crisis engulfing the Darling River system

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

premium_icon Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

'For years I could not accept death penalty because of guilt that I would carry around. Could I have lived with that person's death on my soul?'

Sun 3 Mar 2019

Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

premium_icon Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

'Our deep pain was that we had to watch on as she endured that dark creep of confusion; observing the great fear in her eyes as her world collapsed'

Wed 27 Feb 2019

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

With the recent launch of the new Jaguar I-Pace electric SUV our readers wonder if it is superior to tesla’s ‘falcon-wing’ doored family hauler.

Wed 13 Feb 2019

OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

premium_icon OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

OPINION: While I am horrified at this being filmed and others just watching, I think that this behaviour is a symptom of the home life some of them have.

Mon 11 Feb 2019

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Buy a prestige SUV that never goes off-road — or get a luxe wagon that looks equally classy at the golf club

Sun 10 Feb 2019

Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

premium_icon Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

This organisation solved many crimes and was a respected and viable asset to our under-manned police service.

Fri 25 Jan 2019

Bin-divers trashing our neighbourbood

premium_icon Bin-divers trashing our neighbourbood

Read QT's letter of the week

Thu 17 Jan 2019

Best way to deal with worry

premium_icon Best way to deal with worry

It has recently been acknowledged that “worry” is essential, however what shall we do with it?

Tue 15 Jan 2019

Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

premium_icon Leyonhjelm says Gympie columnist pathetically ill informed

Liberal Democrat Senator comes out swinging at Gympie Times columnist Colin Claridge, who he says does not know him, nor understand the electoral system

Newer Older