Letters to the Editor

Tue 4 Sep 2018

Huge threat Australia is ignoring

Huge threat Australia is ignoring

IT’S the life-and-death issue on which Australia is “irresponsible to the extreme”. And 30 leading experts in the field are furious.

Wed 29 Aug 2018

A new hope emerges as LNP Titanic veers toward disaster?

premium_icon A new hope emerges as LNP Titanic veers toward disaster?

It is not about the people of Australia, it is the bone-dry ambitions of extreme right wreckers in the smiling guise of a vengeful Tony Abbott.

Tue 28 Aug 2018

Our farmers battling big dry need continued support

premium_icon Our farmers battling big dry need continued support

IT’S GREAT to see the support that those who are drought affected are receiving, but with so many in need, more ongoing support will be needed for a longer time.

Sat 25 Aug 2018

There needs to be changes to Australia's voting system

premium_icon There needs to be changes to Australia's voting system

IRRESPECTIVE of the leadership outcome I again state that I believe we should get rid of the two pernicious components of the Australian electoral system.

Fri 24 Aug 2018

Why energy policy was Turnbull's 'John Hewson' moment

premium_icon Why energy policy was Turnbull's 'John Hewson' moment

REMEMBER how our gas supplies were exported to Asia and then some was bought back to satisfy the needs of our domestic consumers?

Thu 23 Aug 2018

Why elderly are not the problem on our roads

premium_icon Why elderly are not the problem on our roads

ONCE again there are complaints about older drivers not knowing the rules of the road.

Thu 16 Aug 2018

All a matter of timing with daylight saving

premium_icon All a matter of timing with daylight saving

I say, why break the cycle of stupidity north of the Tweed River when politicians do not understand the basics of time in regards to the size of Queensland.

Wed 15 Aug 2018

Stop mucking about, build more coal-fired power stations

premium_icon Stop mucking about, build more coal-fired power stations

It really is time our governments got together and determined to construct more coal-fired power stations, and probably some nuclear-powered ones too.

Tue 14 Aug 2018

All it takes is $5 to help out our farmers

All it takes is $5 to help out our farmers

MOST people know that farmers in drought-declared Queensland are struggling to survive.

Mon 13 Aug 2018

RANGE CROSSING: What should be name of new road?

premium_icon RANGE CROSSING: What should be name of new road?

THE new road. Should it have a person’s name, dead or alive, be the Toowoomba bypass or the second range crossing. A good question.

Sun 12 Aug 2018

LETTERS: Why is digging up the dead allowed?

LETTERS: Why is digging up the dead allowed?

FOR centuries archaeologists have been unearthing and opening tombs in Egypt, all in the name of science.

Sat 11 Aug 2018

What should you do if you hit a koala?

What should you do if you hit a koala?

Three recent koala deaths in the Gympie region calls for public action

Jerome: 'Stop racial intolerance'

premium_icon Jerome: 'Stop racial intolerance'

'It is not the same Australia it was when our first Australians arrived.'

Tue 31 Jul 2018

LETTER: People power solved 'underground river' mystery

LETTER: People power solved 'underground river' mystery

OUR long-running water problems in Palm Ave in Raceview have been fixed.

Sat 28 Jul 2018

Drivers need to look for bikes

premium_icon Drivers need to look for bikes

Almost every day cyclists are abused, swerved at and even have had objects thrown at them.

Thu 26 Jul 2018

Bolt overlooks ABC's showcase of colourful Aussie characters

premium_icon Bolt overlooks ABC's showcase of colourful Aussie characters

He overlooks the ABC series Back Roads which reveals the wonderful, colourful characters who live in our widespread, diverse communities.

Don't make betting appear glamorous in ads

premium_icon Don't make betting appear glamorous in ads

Tell the truth about betting, don't make it glamorous when it isn't, and don't imply you will always win when you don't.

Farmers need more support to fight drought

premium_icon Farmers need more support to fight drought

Readers have their say on the need for drought aid for farmers.

Wed 25 Jul 2018

Russia must be held to account for role in plane disaster

premium_icon Russia must be held to account for role in plane disaster

MH17 was shot down over Ukraine with a Buk surface to air missile.

OPINION: Plastic bag ban won't save environment

OPINION: Plastic bag ban won't save environment

Letter writer Eloise Rowe says the "bag ban" has done very little for the environment, as it's impossible to remove all forms of plastic.

Newer Older