Paul Dolan
Paul Dolan Warren Lynam

New test for favourites

THREE heats of the Col Harris Gold Sovereign series were run at the Ipswich Showgrounds last Saturday night.

Each winner was favourite, started from box one and led all the way.

For tomorrow night's $3,500 to the winner final, if any of those winners had drawn box one again he or she would be the logical favourite. But the draw has not been kind to those winners.

Run With Faith for locals Lyn and Don Massey was the fastest heat winner in 37.68 and has box five for the final.

Tony Zammit, from the Gold Coast, scored with Bergano in 37.74 and moves to box eight.

Yamanto's Peter O'Reilly won with Double Spur in 38.07 and has drawn box four.

What about the quickest early sectional?

That honour went to Double Spur with 11.20. Bergamo ran 11.44 and Run With Faith 11.45.

In terms of distance, Double Spur ran about three lengths quicker than the other pair for that first split from the 630 metres starting boxes around to the winning post.

After Saturday's win, Peter O'Reilly started Double Spur at Albion Park on Monday night. The dog led all the way from box eight over 520 metres in 30.28, which was the best time of the night for that distance.

O'Reilly has three runners in tomorrow night's final, due to the second placing of Red Hot Spur and third by Phantom Pete in the heats.

Red Hot Spur, a litter brother to Double Spur, has drawn box one. In 14 career starts, the dog has never drawn the "red alley'' so that was overdue.

The Gold Sovereign final is race eight at 7.03pm. Tomorrow's card kicks off at 4.58pm.

Valuable form

LAST year's Col Harris Gold Sovereign was won by the Karen Davies trained Sweet Karmar. Davies doesn't have a runner tomorrow night.

Tony Zammit and Peter O'Reilly have form in the race.

O'Reilly trained 2012 winner Pedro's First who ran 37.50.

Zammit won in 2010 with Tizza Token whose winning time of 37.32 is the fastest in the past 10 runnings of the race.

Winning formula

THE format for greyhound racing's National Championships haven't really changed much since the introduction of the races back in 1965.

I guess it's a case of - if something ain't broke, why try and fix it ?

The host venue for the Sprint and Distance Championships rotates between six capital cities, namely Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth and Hobart.

This year it's Melbourne's turn to host the finals, both to be run at Sandown Park on Friday night, August 24.

Queensland heats are at Albion Park on Thursday, August 2 with the state final a week later.

Albion Park hosted the grand finals last year.

Jury for Queensland's Tony Brett won the National Sprint.

Victorian superstar Fanta Bale won the National Distance final.

Consider this

IT takes someone a long time to become an overnight sensation.

Raceway vehicle seized as tot fights for life

premium_icon Raceway vehicle seized as tot fights for life

Little Lara remains in critical condition after family struck

Retail worker claims she had to pee in a bucket at work

premium_icon Retail worker claims she had to pee in a bucket at work

She is forced to work in third-world condition

Ex cyclone to bring rain to Qld, NSW

Ex cyclone to bring rain to Qld, NSW

Forecasters have warned of “substantial rain”