More woe for Nalbandian
DAVID Nalbandian may face assault charges after a linesman suffered a cut leg when the Argentine kicked a wooden advertising sign that split and cannoned into the official in Sunday's final at the Queens Club in London.
After examining the extent of the injury, the match umpire disqualified Nalbandian for "unsportsmanlike conduct".
He was later fined the maximum allowable $A12,500 and also stripped of his tournament prizemoney of almost $60,000.
The Association of Tennis Professionals confirmed it was also reviewing comments made by the former world No 3 in a post-match conference.
Nalbandian's woes may not end there with a Scotland Yard spokesman also confirming the Metropolitan Police Service was investigating a complaint of alleged assault.
Meanwhile world No 5 Sam Stosur hit a hurdle in her Wimbledon preparation, suffering a 7-6 6-3 loss to Belgium's world No 262 Kirsten Flipkens in the first round of the Unicef Open in The Netherlands.
Stosur made the semi-finals of this month's French Open but was beaten in the first round at Wimbledon last year.