The Gmail feature you demanded for years is finally here

GOOGLE has installed an "undo send" function as a formal setting on its email service.

That means no more moments of utter embarrassment when you realise you've accidentally sent a message to someone you weren't supposed to or sent one with a glaring error in it.

The feature has been available in Google Labs, a testing platform, for a while now and was recently introduced in the new Google Inbox app, the company explained in a blog post on Monday.

But after feedback from customers - some of whom appear to have been sending holiday plans to their bosses and kinky messages to their dads instead of to their spouses (see video below) - the feature has also been rolled out on Gmail for the web.

The feature can be switched on in 'Settings' - with a period of between five and 30 seconds available:

After sending an email, a small box appears at the top of the page which allows the user to "undo" and edit their message before sending again (or deleting altogether).



Fraudster dipped in to partner's account

Fraudster dipped in to partner's account

Police said there had been 27 transactions of $100, a total of $2700

Falcons foes are also old friends

Falcons foes are also old friends

Former Jets on the opposite side today.

Cutters loss driving Jets skipper

Cutters loss driving Jets skipper

Falcons pose stern test for Ipswich side.

Local Partners