Brynhyfryd comes to life in gallery exhibition
THE exhibition showcasing items from the "Coal King's" mansion Brynhyfryd has opened at Ipswich Art Gallery.
The lost mansion of Brynhyfryd was one of the most imposing buildings in Ipswich of its time. Although standing for less than 50 years, it made such an impression on the Ipswich community that its rise and fall became part of the city's folklore.
Built in 1889 as the main family residence of the Hon. Lewis Thomas, his wife Ann and daughter Mary, Brynhyfryd was known locally as "Blackstone Castle". But by the 1930s the contents and building were put up for public auction and dispersed throughout Ipswich and further afield.
The exhibition Brynhyfryd:lost castle of Blackstone Hill brings together a collection of objects from Brynhyfryd, including decorative objects, family heirlooms, furniture, and parts of the building retrieved from the demolition. While hundreds of items were sold in the auctions of the 1930s, the small number of objects presented in this exhibition have managed to retain the stories of their links to life at Brynhyfryd.
The exhibition is free and runs until August 9 from 10am-5pm daily and is open on the Queen's birthday holiday